The Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (VRLTA) was established for both renters and landlords to protect their legal rights. Both parties deal with a number of rental legalities that are different in Virginia from other states.  This guide will provide information about landlord/tenant law in Virginia.

Landlord Disclosure Requirements in Virginia

Under Virginia law, landlords need to disclose information to tenants including a move-in checklist. The checklist provided must include the condition of the property as well as the appliances and items now in the possession of the renter. The information in the contract must include the identify of anyone who can act on the behalf of the landlord, like a property management company. Some other things that must be disclosed include:

  • Evidence of mold
  • Security deposit details
  • Rent control rules
  • Nonrefundable fees
  • Move-in and move-out inspection process
  • Smoke detector details and location

How Much Can Landlords Charge for Security Deposits?

Virginia does have limits on the amount a landlord is allowed to charge for a security deposit, and the return date. For the security deposit, Virginia states landlords can charge two months’ rent. The deposit must be returned within 45 days after a tenant vacates the property.

Eviction Rules in Virginia

When a tenant is not paying on time, or they are violating the terms of the agreement, landlords can follow a legal eviction. The first notice must be given to the tenant with an unconditional quit notice that states how long the tenant has to move out, and the reason why they are being asked to move out. Since the legal requirements related to eviction in Virginia, it is recommended to hire a property management company to handle these concerns.

Landlord Access to Property

Landlord/tenant law in Virginia pertains to a number of elements that need to be understood by both parties. One area in particular is the access landlords have to their property. Here are some things to understand:

  • Landlords must provide 24 hours’ notice of entry, but not for a maintenance repair
  • Tenant protection if they have been a victim of domestic abuse
  • Fair housing rights
  • Abandon property legal requirements
  • Tenant and landlord dispute leading to retaliation of rent hikes or tenant complaints about unsafe living conditions

Contact Keyrenter Property Management in Solutions-Waynesboro, VA, to learn more about landlord tenant law in Virginia, and if you are within the correct legal requirements as a landlord or tenant.